Message from the BCDP Chair Ruth Holloway, Event Calendar:

Written by F. Lee Erickson on September 7th, 2016

There are ongoing phone banks in Blount County for the Hillary Campaign.
Canvassing Trips to North Carolina are being planned and are to begin near Sept. 10th. 
Please join the campaign and help elect our Democratic candidate for President of the United States.
Go To: hillaryclinton.com/events and type in your city or zip code. Click details and RSVP the event as many locations are at private homes with limited space available.

 

Wednesday Sept. 7 – at 6:30pm  Volunteer Training Session. Location: BCDP Headquarters at 369 Sanderson St.  Alcoa…. across from Midland Plaza and Regions Bank and around the corner from The Soup Kitchen.
Thursday Sept. 8 – at 6:30pm  Blount County Democratic Party Executive Committee monthly meeting. Location:  Martin Luther King Center at 209 E. Franklin St. Alcoa.  All Democrats welcome.
And then the Debate info:
 
THE DEBATES ARE COMING!

The first event:
Presidental Forum – Wed. Sept. 7th   –  Time to be announced.
New York – NBC and MSNBC
Town Hall Format – 30 min. each back to back with questions from moderators and audience.

Debate Watch Party!!!   We have set up 2 Debate Parties.
All are invited and asked to attend these event. The first debate is Septl 26 –  this is Advance Notification – Mark your Calendars!!

1.  Monday Sept. 26th will be the first Debate. It will be hosted by Dottie Shultz at her home in the Royal Oaks area. She asked and offered to do this — and she is looking forward to it. 
3 TVs are available – refreshments (everyone is welcome to bring a snack or drink as well). 
Monday Sept. 26th.
Location:  278 Royal Oaks Dr. Maryville.  8pm.


2. Sunday Oct. 9th  will be hosted by Jan Hickman. She also is offering this event at her home in the South Hampton area.  
Sunday Oct. 9th
Location:  3002 South Hampton Way Maryville

Times  – The debates will air from 9pm to 10:30pm ET
 (8pm – 9:30pm CT, 7pm – 8:30pm MT, 6pm – 7:30pm PT)


The full Debate schedule is as follows:

There is a Presidential forum on Wed. Sept. 7th   –  Time to be announced. New York
NBC and MSNBC
Town Hall Format – 30 min. each back to back
with questions from moderators and audience.

 According to Election Central:

TV Channels – Each debate will be broadcast live on C-SPAN, ABC, CBS, FOX and NBC, as well as all cable news channels including CNN, Fox News and MSNBC among others.

Time – The debates will air from 9pm to 10:30pm ET
 (8pm – 9:30pm CT, 7pm – 8:30pm MT, 6pm – 7:30pm PT)

1.  Monday, September 26, 2016
First presidential debate
Location: Hofstra University, Hempstead, NY

2. Tuesday, October 4, 2016
Vice presidential debate
Location: Longwood University, Farmville, VA

3. Sunday, October 9, 2016
Second presidential debate
Location: Washington University in St. Louis, St. Louis, MO

4. Wednesday, October 19, 2016
Third presidential debate

Location: University of Nevada, Las Vegas, Las Vegas, NV